wrdeer

Best of times ~ Worst of times? #sixwords Information theory and banker led revisionism

In Uncategorized on March 24, 2011 at 8:11 pm
Ok two book shutouts lifted from Boing Boing

The Information: A History, a Theory, a Flood

Imagine my amazement, a book on information theory ( a subject very close to my heart) mentioned in a mainstream outlet ( I guess boing boing classes as mainstream well at least in my mind ) 

I can't in all conscience recommend a book I haven't read yet 
but I know James (Chaos theory ) Gleick's work and this book is definitely now on my todo list, as soon as I can clear some time anyway.

One that won't be making the list anytime soon ( Well unless I can pick it up free somewhere and not contribute in any way to its sales) : 

The Rational Optimist: How Prosperity Evolves

Is a tome by the intellectually bankrupt former non executive chairman of Norther Rock Matt Ridley ( see what I did there ;).

Matt has been a very naughty boy and his revisionist not so rational but very optimistic ideas will no doubt be resurfacing  in the right-wing blogosphere reported as as scientific fact for many years to come.

Ho hum, it seems  boing boing giveth and boing boing taketh away.
Leave a Reply

